Interesting times

May you live in interesting times,
but not be overly bothered by the inconvenience that brings.
Sitting on a sofa, eating cold pizza
and worrying about when the internet will come back on,
I might be better bleeding or screaming at a wall,
or punching trees as if it mattered.
But it’s cold out there and I think it’s icy,
I’m worried I would slip and fall.
On the ground I would think of many things and maybe learn to crawl,
but repeated images tell me to stay in the sea,
resisting evolution.
Maybe I’m not built for action.

23 responses to “Interesting times”

  1. Jingle says :

    lovely thoughts…

    I invite you to attend poets rally week 35, where you share your poetry and make new poetic friends…poetry awards are assigned upon completion.

    let me know when you are ready.
    Merry Christmas…
    Stay Blessed….

  2. Jingle says :

    beautiful sentiments, well delivered work,
    welcome to poets rally, have fun!
    🙂

  3. booguloo says :

    I woke this morning.. 10 am.. had my cold pizza and cold coffee from yesterday’s pot.. went outside and couldn’t really enjoy my cigarette because of the blowing rain and cold..
    came back in.. read your comment on my blog and went for a visit.. all that to say thanks for reminding how blessed I really am..

    Cheers!

  4. littlexwing says :

    This is really, really good. I love the idea of the stagnancy of humans as society continues to make advances… why advance ourselves when we can make it easier to stay the same? Really great work.

  5. liv2write2day says :

    Excellent poem and considerations.

  6. Don Poet says :

    Aha I liked this, nice work!

  7. Dee says :

    I like interesting times…cold pizza not so much, and I am definitely not built for action lol
    interesting piece!

  8. LeiffyV says :

    Wonderful work, the desire of wanting to grow and do versus the effect of comfort and compliance. Very well done! Thanks for sharing.

  9. RiikaInfinityy 마왕 says :

    cool words, happy rally! =D

  10. shantescia says :

    very interesting…

  11. Alethea says :

    Beautiful…
    ” I might be better bleeding or screaming at a wall,
    or punching trees as if it mattered.”
    These two lines did it for me..but I enjoyed the whole read 🙂

  12. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for. says :

    Hmmm, I think I stay on the couch resisting evolution. At least it’s dry here.

  13. cloakedmonk says :

    When I first started reading, I thought this was going to be a benediction! Ha! I have a friend who thinks this is the most insidious thing…not using our power and just wasting it away. I think you caught him perfectly.

  14. Lu Ann says :

    Cold pizza, sitting and waiting for the internet to come back. Very much like me.

    🙂 Happy hollidays!

  15. mairmusic says :

    Love this– so funny yet philosophical– not an easy mix!

  16. Raven says :

    Maybe I really should turn the internet off. Very thought provoking…

  17. brianjmahoney says :

    i connected with the last four lines and the idea of learning to crawl; how modern technology has made us helpless/inactive

  18. Jingle says :

    happy new year…

    come to poets rally if you wish,
    take good care.

  19. Artswebshow says :

    Enjoy that cold pizza. lol
    I really like this poem and the random form you did it in

Leave a comment